Home Crusades Trilogy Lost
The Book of Secrets Secrets of the Dead Orpheus Descent Zodiac Station Black River The Tiger's Prey
Features About the Author

The Orpheus Descent OUT NOW

An act of great daring, pulled off to perfection... Thoughtful, thought-provoking and intelligent: mind-blowingly good.
- Manda Scott, author of The Crystal Skull

2500 years ago, the philosopher Plato travelled to Italy on the trail of an ancient mystery – a riddle written in gold, pointing the way to an unimaginable truth. What he found changed him forever, and set him on the path to becoming the founding thinker of western civilisation.

Today, twelve golden tablets sit in museums around the world, each created by unknown hands and buried in ancient times, each providing the dead with the route to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes, working on a dig in southern Italy, has just found another.

And then Lily vanishes.

Has she walked out of her job, her marriage and her life? Her husband, Jonah, refuses to believe it. But no one can help him: not the police; not the secretive foundation that sponsored her dig; not even their circle of university friends who seem to know more than they’re saying. All Jonah has is belief, and a determination to do whatever it takes to get Lily back.

But like Plato before him, Jonah will discover the journey ahead is mysterious and dark and fraught with danger.

And not everyone who journeys to the place where Lily has gone can return.

You can read the first chapter of THE ORPHEUS DESCENT here. Or buy it at Foyles, Waterstones, Amazon or any other good retailer.